Call Us - 1-800-680-9052 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews

Illinois Divorce Online Help Center

If you have questions about how an uncontested divorce in Illinois works, please call us toll free at 1-800-680-9052 Mon.- Fri. 9am to 5pm EST.

We provide unlimited support for all of our customers through our Illinois Divorce Online Help Center. We take great pride in being able to respond to our customers in a "human" to "human" approach (as you can see, we do not hide our toll free number 1-800-680-9052). We understand the need a customer may have to talk to a person rather than the typical automated voice or e-mail support system. Please keep in mind that we are not lawyers and we do not give out legal advice. If you need legal advice regarding your uncontested divorce in Illinois, we recommend that you contact a lawyer in your area.

Can I file for my divorce in the State of Illinois?

In almost all cases, you file for a divorce in the state where you reside. This means that if you are a resident of Illinois, you file in Illinois and are governed by Illinois's divorce laws even if you were married, for example, in California.

You must meet Illinois's residency requirement for an Illinois court to have jurisdiction over your divorce.

Will Illinois 3StepDivorce™ work in my situation?

Illinois 3StepDivorce™ works in the following two situations:

1. both you and your spouse agree about everything, and both of you are willing to sign the divorce paperwork.

OR

2. Your spouse is missing and you cannot locate him or her.

Does Illinois 3StepDivorce™ work if I have children?

It sure does. The Illinois 3StepDivorce™ allows you to address all issues regarding children, including but not limited to, physical and legal custody, visitation and support, care, health insurance and tax deductions.

Do I need a lawyer to file for divorce in Illinois?

Thousands of people divorce in Illinois every year without hiring a lawyer.

When spouses cannot agree about the terms and conditions of their divorce, they sometimes end up in court where a judge makes decisions for them. This is called a contested divorce, and hiring a lawyer is a good idea in this case.

When a case is uncontested and both parties are willing to sign, (when you and you spouse agree about everything) filing your own divorce is a common choice in order to cut down legal expenses. Read about the advantages of filing your own uncontested divorce in Illinois.

What are the residency requirements for a Illinois divorce?

The residency requirements for a divorce in Illinois are as follows: One of the spouses must be a resident of the state or in the military stationed in the state for 90 days prior to filing.

Must I prove that I am a resident of Illinois in order to file for my divorce?

Yes. The divorce paperwork requires a signed authentication that you have been a resident of Illinois for at least the past 90 days.

This is a state law.

Signing false statements is perjury.

If the court requires proof for some reason, typically an Illinois driver's license or state identification is sufficient. An affidavit of a corroborating witness testifying about your residency also works.

What if my spouse does not live in Illinois?

Your spouse does not need to live in Illinois to use 3StepDivorce™. After you have printed all the divorce paperwork, you simply mail the documents to your spouse and he or she signs them. After your spouse returns them, you file in your local county court.

Very often divorcing spouses live in different states.

What are the grounds for filing a divorce in Illinois?

You must choose one of the following grounds to divorce in Illinois. Without instructions to the contrary, Illinois 3StepDivorce™ automatically selects the most common ground used for uncontested actions. However, if a different ground is desired, our support team makes the changes upon request.

The grounds for divorce in Illinois are as follows:

No Fault:

That the spouses have lived separate and apart for a continuous period in excess of two years and irreconcilable differences have caused the irretrievable breakdown of the marriage and the court determines that efforts at reconciliation have failed or that future attempts at reconciliation would be impractical and not in the best interests of the family. If the spouses have lived separate and apart for a continuous period of not less than six months preceding the entry of the judgment dissolving the marriage, as evidenced by testimony or affidavits of the spouses, the two-year requirement may be waived upon written stipulation of both spouses.

Fault: 1) Impotence, 2) Bigamy, 3) Adultery after the marriage, 4 Desertion of the petitioner for a period of one year, including any period during which a divorce or separation action was pending, 5) Habitual drunkenness or drug addiction by the respondent for a period of two years, 6) Extreme and repeated acts of physical or mental cruelty by the respondent, 7) Conviction of felony or other infamous crime, 8) Infection of a sexually transmitted disease.

How long does a divorce take in Illinois?

Once the divorce paperwork has been filed in court, it usually takes about 90 days for a divorce to be final. The start to finish time of the divorce may vary depending on the caseload of the court and the availability of judges to sign the final judgment for dissolution.

3StepDivorce™ saves time because all lengthy delivery times are eliminated when you print your documents from your computer. You control revisions and reprintings as necessary.

Do I have to appear in court?

In Illinois, a divorce hearing is typically required if you and your spouse have children. If there are children involved, a short hearing, generally about 15 minutes, gives the court an opportunity to make certain that you understand the parameters of custody, visitation and support that are ordered as part of your divorce. If you do not have children a short hearing may still be required, but only the petitioner would normally have to attend. The process in very streamlined since you and your spouse are in agreement and there is nothing for the court to decide. Learn more about divorce hearings in Illinois

After my divorce, how long do I have to wait in Illinois before I can remarry?

There is no mandatory waiting period in Illinois.

Does Illinois permit a name change as part of the divorce?

Yes. 3StepDivorce™ includes a protocol for the wife to take back her former or birth name as part of the filing. It is easier to effect a name change during the divorce rather than after the divorce is finalized.

Does Illinois 3StepDivorce™ address the division of our property and debt?

Separate and marital property and debt is identified and addressed in your 3StepDivorce™ account. A series of questions itemizes property and debt, dividing and allocating both according to what you and your spouse have agreed to. The answers become part of the divorce documents, so it is clear to you, your spouse and the court how assets and liabilities have been divided.

Will I be able to address our retirement accounts?

Yes. You answer a few questions dealing with individual retirement accounts. You have the option of waiving rights to each other's account(s), or dividing any marital portion of an account by a specific percentage or a dollar amount.

What about the marital home?

Once again, a few questions inside your account deal with the disposition of the marital home. All possible scenarios are covered -- sale, planned sale, transfer from one spouse to the other, and co-ownership.

Will I be able to address spousal support?

A few questions in your account deal with temporary or permanent spousal support. Rights to spousal support may be waived, or a couple can agree to a specific amount for a set period of time. These questions define and limit the parameters of the desired spousal support, which often terminates upon remarriage or cohabitation.

Does Illinois require child support?

Illinois requires that a support order be put in place for all minor children.

3StepDivorce™ provides the Illinois Child Support Guideline Worksheet, so you can easily calculate the state's recommendation for monthly support, but you have the option of taking these recommendations under advisement. The courts realize that you and your spouse know your situation better than they do, so they may approve any reasonable support amount, even if it is different from the one on the state worksheet.

How do I calculate how much child support I owe?

We provide Illinois Child Support Worksheets inside your account. These worksheets make it very easy to calculate a monthly support amount. The support calculation is based on a number of variables, but the primary one is income.

Once you have calculated the amount, you and your spouse decide if you want to deviate from it and the reasons for doing so.

Can I deviate from the Illinois child support guideline?

Yes. Once you and your spouse agree to a monthly child support amount, a judge reviews your decision. He or she will accept it if it seems reasonable. However, if it seems too high or too low, the judge will want an explanation why the two of you came to amount so much at variance from the state guidelines. Your explanation and reasons for it determine whether or not the judge accepts your proposed child support amount.

How do I know when I can deviate from the Illinois child support guidelines?

Illinois permits deviation from its child support guidelines when the court makes a determination that the application of the guidelines would be inappropriate after considering the best interests of the child in the light of evidence including, not limited to, one of more of following relevant factors: the financial needs and resources of the child; the financial needs and resources of the custodial parent; the standard of living the child would have enjoyed had the marriage not dissolved; the physical and emotional condition of the child as his or her educational needs; and the financial needs and resources of the noncustodial parent.

If the court deviates from the guidelines, its findings shall state the amount of support that would have been required had the guidelines been applied.

In Illinois, can child support be modified after the divorce?

Yes. Child support can be modified based on a change in circumstances. In Illinois, a change in circumstances means "a significant change in circumstances," generally, changes "not considered when the original judgment was entered" that are "permanent and substantial" and/or "affect one's current standard of living."

Courts allow for child support modification in an emergency to protect the best interests of the child. Generally, however, unless specifically agreed to in the Marital Settlement Agreement, courts require a "substantial change in circumstances" and consider the income of the new spouses of both parents, the additional assets available for support, the increase in the cost of living and child rearing, and the new family responsibilities of both spouses.

In Illinois, can child custody arrangements be modified after the divorce?

Yes. Child custody arrangements can be modified when, for example, they break down because of the conduct of one of the former spouses.

Can we customize our child custody arrangements?

Yes. The terms and conditions of both sole and joint/shared custody are defined by you and your spouse.

Can we specify our visitation/parenting time schedule?

Yes. You can either use a standard schedule that we provide in your account, or you can use our option to customize your own.

In Illinois, do any or all of the divorce documents need to be notarized?

Yes. Some of the divorce papers need to be notarized. The step-by-step filing instructions explain who signs what and whether a particular document needs to be notarized. The documents requiring notarization contain notary clauses below individual signature lines.

Do my spouse and I have to sign and/or notarize the documents at the same time and/or place?

No. If desired, each of you may sign and/or notarize a document at a different time and/or place.

As mentioned, very frequently spouses sign and notarize the documents at different times and places because they live apart in different states. This happens often, for example, when one of them has moved or is in the military.

In Illinois, where do I file?

In Illinois, the divorce papers are filed in the Circuit Court of the _____________ Judicial District, ____________ County, which is the local county courthouse, where the Domestic Relations or Family Law department accepts the divorce filing. The divorce documents are submitted to the Clerk of the Courts. You pay a filing fee, and the clerk assigns the case a case number.

What is the filing fee in Illinois?

In Illinois, the fees vary by county. Roughly the fees may be as high as $325. If you want to know the exact amount, you can call the courthouse and ask.

Filing fees underwrite the cost of the court system, but in the case of indigent petitioners these fees may be waived.

How can the fees be waived?

Normally, an indigent petitioner completes a very short form at the time of filing. This form asks the court to waive the fees because of financial hardship.

Can I stop a divorce in Illinois once I sign up?

Yes. If you have signed up but not filed any divorce papers, then nothing must be done. If you have initiated the action by filing the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage, your case can be dismissed by petitioning the court to do so. Normally, this can only be done by the filing spouse and must be done in writing.

Often the clerk of the court can help a person remove a case from the court docket.

What documents do I receive with my Illinois 3StepDivorce™ account?

The Illinois 3StepDivorce™ includes the following documents:

- Illinois Filing Instructions
- Court House Addresses and Information
- Petition for Dissolution of Marriage
- Verification Statement
- Waiver of Two-year Statutory Period of Separation (Petitioner)
- Waiver of Two-year Statutory Period of Separation (Respondent)
- Marital Settlement Agreement
- Schedule for Visitation/Parenting Time of Minor Children
- Financial Disclosure Statement (Petitioner)
- Financial Disclosure Statement (Respondent)
- Child Support Calculation Worksheet
- Declaration under the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act
- Entry of Appearance, Waiver and Consent
- Uniform Order for Support
- Judgment for Dissolution

Copyright Notice: The above questions and answers regarding Illinois divorce is original material which is owned an copyrighted by 3 Step Solutions, LLC. This material has been adapted from applicable state laws and unauthorized reproduction is prohibited. Violation of this notice will result in immediate legal action.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3 Step Solutions, LLC does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more.
Have questions? Call us at 1-800-680-9052
Copyright© 1996-2018. All rights reserved by 3 Step Solutions, LLC
A Sister Company of Divorce Source, Inc. - Since 1997

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorceTM, The Original Online DivorceSM