Call Us - 1-800-680-9052 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews

Pennsylvania Divorce Online Help Center

If you have questions about how an uncontested divorce in Pennsylvania works, please call us toll free at 1-800-680-9052 Mon.- Fri. 9am to 5pm EST.

We provide unlimited support for all of our customers through our Pennsylvania Divorce Online Help Center. We take great pride in being able to respond to our customers in a "human" to "human" approach (as you can see, we do not hide our toll free number 1-800-680-9052). We understand the need a customer may have to talk to a person rather than the typical automated voice or e-mail support system. Please keep in mind that we are not lawyers and we do not give out legal advice. If you need legal advice regarding your uncontested divorce in Pennsylvania, we recommend that you contact a lawyer in your area.

Can I file for my divorce in the State of Pennsylvania?

In almost all cases, you file for a divorce in the state where you reside. This means that if you are a resident of Pennsylvania, you file in Pennsylvania and are governed by Pennsylvania's divorce laws even if you were married, for example, in California.

You must meet Pennsylvania's residency requirement for a Pennsylvania court to have jurisdiction over your divorce.

Will Pennsylvania 3StepDivorce™ work in my situation?

Pennsylvania 3StepDivorce™ works as long as both you and your spouse agree about everything, and both of you are willing to sign the divorce paperwork.

You do not have to sign the papers together, at the same time and place, but the Pennsylvania 3StepDivorce™ requires both spouses to sign.

Does Pennsylvania 3StepDivorce™ work if I have children?

It sure does. The Pennsylvania 3StepDivorce™ allows you to address all issues regarding children, including but not limited to, physical and legal custody, visitation and support, care, health insurance and tax deductions.

Do I need a lawyer to file for divorce in Pennsylvania?

Thousands of people divorce in Pennsylvania every year without hiring a lawyer, but if you feel you need legal advice to complete your divorce, you should consider contacting a lawyer.

When spouses cannot agree about the terms and conditions of their divorce, they sometimes end up in court where a judge makes decisions for them. This is called a contested divorce, and hiring a lawyer is a good idea in this case.

When a divorce case is uncontested and both parties are willing to sign, (when you and you spouse agree about everything) filing your own divorce is a common choice in order to cut down legal expenses. Read about the advantages of filing your own uncontested divorce in Pennsylvania.

What are the residency requirements for a Pennsylvania divorce?

The residency requirements for a divorce in Pennsylvania are as follows:

Either spouse must be a resident of Pennsylvania for at least six months prior to filing. The action may be filed in the county 1) where the Defendant resides, or if he or she lives outside of Pennsylvania, 2) where the Plaintiff resides; 3) where the marital home was, if the Plaintiff continuously resided there; 4) prior to six months after the date of final separation and with the agreement of the Defendant, where the plaintiff resides or, if neither party continues to reside in the county of the marital home, where either spouse resides, or 5) after six months after the date of final separation, where either party resides.

Must I prove that I am a resident of Pennsylvania in order to file for my divorce?

Yes. The divorce paperwork requires a signed authentication that you have been a resident of Pennsylvania for at least six months prior to filing.

This is a state law.

Signing false statements is perjury.

If the court requires proof for some reason, typically a Pennsylvania driver's license or state identification is sufficient. An affidavit of a corroborating witness testifying about your residency also works.

What if my spouse does not live in Pennsylvania?

Your spouse does not need to live in Pennsylvania to use 3StepDivorce™. After you have printed all the divorce paperwork, you simply mail the documents to your spouse and he or she signs them. After your spouse returns them, you file in your local county court.

Very often divorcing spouses live in different states.

What are the grounds for filing a divorce in Pennsylvania?

However, if a different ground is desired, our support team makes the changes upon request.

The grounds for divorce in Pennsylvania are as follows:

No-Fault Grounds:

- Mutual Consent, when the marriage is irretrievably broken and 90 days have elapsed from the filing and each spouse signs an affidavit consenting to the divorce.

- Irretrievable breakdown, when a complaint has been filed alleging the marriage is irretrievably broken and an affidavit has been filed alleging that the spouses have lived separate and apart for at least two years.

Fault Grounds:

- Willful and malicious desertion and absence from the habitation of the injured and innocent spouse for a period of one or more years.

- Adultery.

- Cruel and barbarous treatment endangering the life or health of the injured and innocent spouse.

- Bigamy.

- Imprisonment for a term of two or more years.

- Indignities to the innocent spouse that render his or her life intolerable and burdensome.

How long does a divorce take in Pennsylvania?

Once the divorce paperwork has been filed in court, it usually takes 90 days for a divorce to be final. The start to finish time of the divorce may vary depending on the caseload of the court and the availability of judges to sign the final Decree of Divorce.

3StepDivorce™ saves time because all lengthy delivery times are eliminated when you print your documents from your computer. You control revisions and reprintings as necessary.

Do I have to appear in court?

In Pennsylvania, a divorce hearing is not typically required, even if you and your spouse have children, as long as your divorce is uncontested.

Learn more about divorce hearings in Pennsylvania

After my divorce, how long do I have to wait in Pennsylvania before I can remarry?

There is no mandatory waiting period in Pennsylvania.

Does Pennsylvania permit a name change as part of the divorce?

Yes. 3StepDivorce™ includes a protocol for the wife to take back her former or birth name as part of the filing. It is easier to effect a name change during the divorce rather than after the divorce is finalized.

Does Pennsylvania 3StepDivorce™ address the division of our property and debt?

Separate and marital property and debt is identified and addressed in your 3StepDivorce™ account. A series of questions itemizes property and debt, dividing and allocating both according to what you and your spouse have agreed to. The answers become part of the divorce documents, so it is clear to you, your spouse and the court how assets and liabilities have been divided.

Will I be able to address our retirement accounts?

Yes. You answer a few questions dealing with individual retirement accounts. You have the option of waiving rights to each other's account(s), or dividing any marital portion of an account by a specific percentage or a dollar amount.

What about the marital home?

Once again, a few questions inside your account deal with the disposition of the marital home. All possible scenarios are covered -- sale, planned sale, transfer from one spouse to the other, and co-ownership.

Will I be able to address spousal support?

A few questions in your account deal with temporary or permanent spousal support. Rights to spousal support may be waived, or a couple can agree to a specific amount for a set period of time. These questions define and limit the parameters of the desired spousal support, which often terminates upon remarriage or cohabitation.

Does Pennsylvania require child support?

Pennsylvania requires that a support order be put in place for all minor children.

3StepDivorce™ provides the Pennsylvania Child Support Guideline Worksheet, so you can easily calculate the state's recommendation for monthly support, but you have the option of taking these recommendations under advisement. The courts realize that you and your spouse know your situation better than they do, so they may approve any reasonable support amount, even if it is different from the one on the state worksheet.

How do I calculate how much child support I owe?

We provide Pennsylvania Child Support Worksheets inside your account. These worksheets make it very easy to calculate a monthly support amount. The support calculation is based on a number of variables, but the primary one is income.

Once you have calculated the amount, you and your spouse decide if you want to deviate from it and the reasons for doing so.

Can I deviate from the Pennsylvania child support guideline?

Yes. Once you and your spouse agree to a monthly child support amount, a judge reviews your decision. He or she will accept it if it seems reasonable. However, if it seems too high or too low, the judge will want an explanation why the two of you came to amount so much at variance from the state guidelines. Your explanation and reasons for it determine whether or not the judge accepts your proposed child support amount.

How do I know when I can deviate from the Pennsylvania child support guidelines?

Pennsylvania permits deviation from its child support guidelines when there are "unusual needs, extraordinary expenses an other factors, such as the parties' assets [that] warrant special attention."

In Pennsylvania, can child support be modified after the divorce?

Yes. Child support can be modified based on a change in circumstances. In Pennsylvania, a change in circumstances means "a significant change in circumstances," generally, changes "not considered when the original judgment was entered" that are "permanent and substantial" and/or "affect one's current standard of living."

In Pennsylvania, can child custody arrangements be modified after the divorce?

Yes. Child custody arrangements can be modified when, for example, they break down because of the conduct of one of the former spouses.

Can we customize our child custody arrangements?

Yes. The terms and conditions of both sole and joint/shared custody are defined by you and your spouse.

Can we specify our visitation/parenting time schedule?

Yes. You can either use a standard schedule that we provide in your account, or you can use our option to customize your own.

In Pennsylvania, do any or all of the divorce documents need to be notarized?

Yes. Some of the divorce papers need to be notarized. The step-by-step filing instructions explain who signs what and whether a particular document needs to be notarized. The documents requiring notarization contain notary clauses below individual signature lines.

Do my spouse and I have to sign and/or notarize the documents at the same time and/or place?

No. If desired, each of you may sign and/or notarize a document at a different time and/or place.

As mentioned, very frequently spouses sign and notarize the documents at different times and places because they live apart in different states. This happens often, for example, when one of them has moved or is in the military.

In Pennsylvania, where do I file?

In Pennsylvania, the divorce papers are filed in the Court of Common Pleas, ____________County, which is the local county courthouse, where the Domestic Relations or Family Law department accepts the divorce filing. The divorce documents are submitted to the Clerk of the Courts. You pay a filing fee, and the clerk assigns the case a case number.

What is the filing fee in Pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, the fees vary by county. Roughly the fees are about $200 or more. If you want to know the exact amount, you can call the courthouse and ask.

Filing fees underwrite the cost of the court system, but in the case of indigent petitioners these fees may be waived.

How can the fees be waived?

Normally, an indigent petitioner completes a very short form at the time of filing. This form asks the court to waive the fees because of financial hardship.

Can I stop a divorce in Pennsylvania once I sign up?

Yes. If you have signed up but not filed any divorce papers, then nothing must be done. If you have initiated the action by filing the Complaint for Divorce, your case can be dismissed by petitioning the court to do so. Normally, this can only be done by the filing spouse and must be done in writing.

Often the clerk of the court can help a person remove a case from the court docket.

What documents do I receive with my Pennsylvania 3StepDivorce™ account?

The Pennsylvania 3StepDivorce™ includes the following documents:

- Pennsylvania Filing Instructions
- Court House Addresses and Information
- Notice to Defend and Claim Rights
- Complaint for Divorce
- Affidavit of Verification
- Court of Common Pleas Intake
- Domestic Relations Income and Expense Statement (for Plaintiff)
- Domestic Relations Income and Expense Statement (for Defendant)
- Notice to File Social Security Numbers
- Marital Settlement Agreement
- Schedule for Visitation/Parenting Time of Minor Children
- Acknowledgement (Plaintiff)
- Acknowledgement (Defendant)
- Affidavit of Consent and Waiver (Plaintiff)
- Affidavit of Consent and Waiver (Defendant)
- Child Support Worksheet
- Basic Child Support Schedule
- Declaration under the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act
- Praecipe to Transmit Record
- Notice of Intention to Retake Former Name
- Decree of Divorce

Copyright Notice: The above questions and answers regarding Pennsylvania divorce is original material which is owned an copyrighted by 3 Step Solutions, LLC. This material has been adapted from applicable state laws and unauthorized reproduction is prohibited. Violation of this notice will result in immediate legal action.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3 Step Solutions, LLC does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more.
Have questions? Call us at 1-800-680-9052
Copyright© 1996-2018. All rights reserved by 3 Step Solutions, LLC
A Sister Company of Divorce Source, Inc. - Since 1997

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorceTM, The Original Online DivorceSM