A Simple Divorce Process
||See if you qualify & create account!
||Answer the questions at your own pace.
||Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).
Only $299 (flat-fee)
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
NEW MEXICO DIVORCE BASICS AND OVERVIEW
This is a divorce reference guide to understanding divorce in New Mexico. Each state has its own requirements, laws, and documentation, so we decided to gather it all in one location to make it easy and quick for you to find the information you need before, during and after your divorce.
Divorce in New Mexico Made Easy (See New Mexico Divorce Help Center)
- Time Frame: There is no waiting period to file for a divorce in New Mexico.
- Where to File: District Court. "State of New Mexico, in the District Court, _____________ County." (See New Mexico Court Addresses)
- Statute Statutes: New Mexico Statutes Annotated; Chapter 40.
- Name of Action: Petition for Dissolution.
- Name of Parties: Petitioner, who files, and respondent, who answers.
- No-Fault or Fault and No-Fault Only: Both no-fault and fault offered.
- Primary Documents Filed: Petition for Dissolution of Marriage and Decree of Dissolution. (See NM Forms List With Explanations)
- Physical Separation Required: No.
- Separation Time to File: None.
- Legal Separation Permitted: Yes. For a legal separation, the spouses must not live together or cohabit. One of the spouses must be a resident of New Mexico for at least six months.
- Grounds: No-Fault: Incompatibility; and fault; cruel and inhuman treatment; adultery; or abandonment. (See New Mexico Laws for Divorce)
- Residency Requirement: One spouse must be a resident of New Mexico for at least six months before filing and have a home in New Mexico.
- Mediation Required: Parents that are not in agreement (contested divorce cases) may request or courts may order entry into domestic relations mediation programs if they have been established in the county of filing for the dissolution. Not all counties have mediation programs.
- Counseling Required: There is no mandatory divorce counseling in New Mexico.
- Parenting Classes Required: The court may order parenting classes at its discretion for cases including minor children.
- Filing Fee: About $137. (See NM Filing Fee Waiver Form)
- Where to File for Child Support: Unless the court and parents agree otherwise, all New Mexico child support orders require wage garnishment, which conveys the payment to the CSED and then to the custodial parent. For help with child support enforcement and collection in New Mexico call 800-288-7207.
- Child Support Guidelines Model: The noncustodial parent pays child support based on the Income Shares Model.
- Property Division: Community property regime on the dual classification routine.
- Appreciation of Separate Property: The appreciation of separate property is marital.
- Attendance at Hearing: No.
- Fault Considered in Property Division: Fault is not considered in property distribution.
- Waiting period after Divorce for Remarriage: None.
- Ways to Serve Spouse: Personal service is made upon an individual by delivering a copy of the divorce papers to him or her personally, or if he or she refuses to accept them, by leaving them at the location where he or she has been found. The divorce papers may be served by mailing them first-class certified mail.
- Learn More About New Mexico Divorce.
LEARN HOW 3STEPDIVORCETM MAKES YOUR UNCONTESTED DIVORCE SIMPLE